Research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jrunyan

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am curious to see what some of the accepted medical school students did for research before medical school. How many of you have a masters degree?

Just curious to know,

jacob

Members don't see this ad.

The summer after I graduated, I worked for the USDA performing endocrine research on gypsy moths. I performed microsurgery to extract a tropic hormone from their necks that influences another hormone (ecdysone) to induce the pupa stage from the larva. We were trying to find a biological control for a growing gypsy moth problem in Maryland. I wanted to find an antagonist of the tropic hormone (this involved HPLC, radioimmunoassays, ELISA, etc..) It was the most boring thing I've ever done. It drove me to become a clinician. (I should say that I don't think research in general is boring, simply that research with bugs is boring!)

[This message has been edited by FourthTime (edited 02-21-2001).]

I did a fair bit of research before medical school, including:

longitudinal cognitive and motor changes in neurodegenerative diseases

cognitive and motor changes in CVA

use of primary care clinics to reduce readmissions to VA hospitals for patients with DM, CHF and COPD

use of KT/V as a measure of dialysis adequacy

tacrine drug trial

Diabetes Prevention Trial - Type 1

bone mineral density in women veterans

And I do have a Master's degree (Exp. Psych). Hope this helps.

Members don't see this ad :)