Mar 15, 2010
Status
hello, im in my first year at UBC science, i really want to get into a med school here in Canada and have no problem moving to another Province if it allows me to have more chance. Because there is only 1 med school here in BC, the competition here will be quiet high i think.
One of my of my alternatives is moving to Alberta and applying to UoA or UoC. So my question is what do i have to do exactly to become a "resident of Alberta". Do i need a permenant address? or a Driver Licence? thanks!

thinker

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jan 11, 2009
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Each university will have different criteria on what constitutes a resident of the province for admissions purposes. i remember them being pretty relaxed.. especially UofA.. check out the med school website for each university for the exact info. I think one full year of living in the province before med school starts was enough for UofA.

Jun 7, 2009
Status
From http://www.med.ualberta.ca/Education/UME/admissions/dofm_require.cfm:
For admissions purposes, a resident of Alberta is defined as a Canadian citizen or Permanent Resident (Landed Immigrant), who has been domiciled in the Province of Alberta or Yukon or Northwest Territories or Nunavut for a least one year immediately before the first day of classes of the term for which admission is sought. The one-year residence period shall not be considered broken where the admission committee is satisfied that the applicant was temporarily out of the province on vacation, in short-term employment, or as a full-time student. Applicants on study permit cannot establish residence during a period as a full-time student in an Alberta secondary or postsecondary institution because a stay under study permit is considered to be a visiting period.