Retake advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ohyou98

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got my score back 508 (128/124/127/129) and I’m planning to retake the MCAT in January or March. I work 40+ hours. My goal score is +515. Does anyone have any advice for me? How can I improve? How should I structure my study schedule? I should mention that English isn’t my first language and I struggle with CARS a lot… thanks in advance !

Members don't see this ad.

Welcome to the forums.

First off, I want to say that your MCAT score is not a detriment to your application. Your CP, BB, and PS scores are quite strong and a 508 is good enough to get into medical school pending other factors in your application. Given that English is not your native language, your CARS score is acceptable. CARS is a very, very challenging section for folks who do not have English as a native language. Side note: I was an ESL teacher and up until earlier this month I used to tutor sections of the mcat and in particular I worked with folks on CARS. Before jumping into a retake, you really have to aim to get your score up quite a bit. A 1 or 2 point improvement isn't really going to make a difference especially because the AAMC recommends that programs average multiple MCAT scores together. With that being said, you really need to be aiming for 4+ points higher on the second attempt. The AAMC publishes data for second MCAT attempts that shows that the vast majority of students score close to their original score. Only around a quarter see an increase greater than 1 point. I don't say this to discourage you from retaking but rather to give you some additional things to consider.

Without knowing how you prepared for the MCAT before, what I would recommend is you do the following: