Retake Labs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WithHeart

Full Member
10+ Year Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
18
Reaction score
0

Members don't see this ad.
Hi all,

My situation with the Gen Chem sequence is that I took Gen Chem I and II at a state school this summer, got a B- in I and an F in II. I also took the labs for them and got an A in both.

I decided to retake both Gen Chem I and II at my university this year, since I failed Gen Chem II and also since most pharm schools prefer both courses of a required sequence to be taken at the same school.

For the labs, however, I was wondering if I should retake them as well even though I earned an A in both courses at the state school. Since I am retaking the Gen Chem sequence at my uni, does that mean that I have to retake them with the labs as well?

I understand that the only sure way would be to ask the schools myself (which I will do), but I was wondering what your thoughts were.
 

eightonesix

Full Member
10+ Year Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2008
Messages
92
Reaction score
0
Since most schools prefer (or maybe even expect) the sequences done at the same university, I would think that you would have to take the labs along side the course. Does your university offer the lab separately or is it integrated with the course?
 

WithHeart

Full Member
10+ Year Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Since most schools prefer (or maybe even expect) the sequences done at the same university, I would think that you would have to take the labs along side the course. Does your university offer the lab separately or is it integrated with the course?

They are offered separately at my school.
 
Last edited:

fenixtnlfan

P2 Wildcat
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2007
Messages
1,482
Reaction score
0
I wouldn't retake the labs as it would be a waste of your money and time. I think it's rare that a school would care if you took them at the same place. You can always look at the pharm schools you think you will apply to and see if they have a policy about that.
 

illtreaturite1

PharmD in 2013
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
185
Reaction score
0
Don't know if my story will help you much. My last ochem classes and labs were in 2000. The school I'm applying to has a 7 year statute. When I got my transcripts evaluated by the assistant dean she told me to retake organic, but the labs weren't really necessary. It depends on the school.

Good luck.
 
Top