Retaking Genetics?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FluffyCat1212

Bored med student in the frozen north
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!

I have a bit of a conundrum. I’m a post-bac student working full-time as a clinical research assistant. In undergrad, I minored in biology (not pre-med), so I took several bio classes then...but that was 3 years ago.

I took genetics my senior year of undergrad (2016) and got a C+. That will satisfy pretty much all of the schools I’m looking at that require it specifically.

My advisor is encouraging me to retake genetics this summer for the purpose of increasing my gpa and preparing for the MCAT. It has been a while since I’ve taken a true bio course, and I’m a little rusty. I hope to take it in May 2020.

However, everyone else I’ve talked to (including my boss) is pushing me to take the summer off for several reasons:

-I may have the opportunity to publish (1st author) this summer
-will be grading exams for summer organic chemistry
-am a bridesmaid in two out of town weddings in the next 6mos (one in July and am maid-of-(dis)honor in November).
-am probably behind in volunteer hours. Recently started clinical volunteering that will allow me to shadow a doc after I hit 100 hours.
-have my hardest semester yet coming up in the fall (physics and biochem while continuing to work full-time).
-need to shadow a DO because I intend to apply to several osteopathic schools.
-recently got MSAR and am feeling a little discouraged, which is causing some burnout.

It will be tough to find the time to beef up the other areas of my application (volunteering, shadowing, publication) if I take a course this summer.