Rising Junior Veterinary Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1051250

Hello. First off, I hope everyone and their families are doing well. I am currently a sophomore pursuing a major in Biology (minor in Communication Studies) on a Pre-Veterinary Medicine concentration. I am posting to the forum to get a sense of where I stand as an undergraduate sophomore student wanting to pursue a career in veterinary medicine.

End of Sophmore Year GPA
Cumulative GPA:
Science GPA: 3.45
  • For some odd reason, I struggled with General Chemistry (Taken in trimesters (B+, B, B-)... total of 9 credits). Unfortunately, Gen Chem is hindering both my cumulative and science GPA. BUT I have gotten an A- and A(this semester) in Organic Chemistry.
  • Science classes: General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Cell Biology/ Organisms to Ecosystems
  • Rising Junior Classes: Genetics, Biochemistry, Physics, Phys Stats
Veterinary Experience: My concern for my veterinary experience is the lack of diversity. I have struggled to find different types of veterinary experiences. Having to pay for college, it can be difficult to take unpaid internships when I have loans to pay. For the upcoming school year, I will be working at an Equine Hospital.
1. Small Animal Emergency Center: 600 hours
2. Small Animal Day Clinic Internship: 500 hours

Research
1. Working in my professor's research lab
2. Next summer opportunity: USDA veterinary research

Animal Experience/Volunteer
1. Horse Stable: 30 hours
2.Exotic Animal Experience (upcoming summer): Working with wolves, a bear, lion, lynx, cougar, etc.
  • Expecting to get about 200 hours interning here
3. Animal Shelter (1100 hours BUT they are from junior/senior year of high school and beginning of freshman year of college). Not sure if that is something I would put on my future veterinary application.