Rough draft of personal statement

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

college!!

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, this is my first post. I think I'm on the right track with my statement, but let me know if it gets bogged down anywhere, or if there is some point where you stop reading please tell me where that was.

Thanks

-------------------
COLLEGE I, HISTORY: I was 18 years old, right out of high school. I arrived on campus with vague notions about learning who I was and who I wanted to be and about becoming a responsible member of society. Mainly, I was excited to play college soccer, and I went because I was expected to go. Academics were not my priority.

I majored in History and loved my courses in Greek and Roman art and archaeology, medieval Europe, African-American History, and athletic training. I spent a great semester at the Smithsonian, helping to build a permanent exhibit that I hope my kids will see some day. I learned things that I think will make me a good doctor, and I grew in ways that probably can't be quantified by a letter or percentage. I learned to see things holistically and to think analytically. I learned to listen. I learned to work and live with diverse people and to appreciate our differences. I learned that nearly all issues are complex, and I began to see life as a fascinating, unfolding process, replete with opportunities and the challenge to make the most of them.

CHOOSING MEDICINE: My mom is a doctor, a dermatologist. I've worked in her office off-and-on for three years. I love what she does, working with people, helping people, not the vague, indirect way of politics or most civil service, but the concrete "Thank you, Dr. Jacobsen, for making me better." Still, I didn't think it was for me, and I really couldn't handle blood, not even fake TV blood, after falling off a cliff at age nine.