Royal Melbourne/Western vs Alfred for International Elective Rotation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SoHotRightNow

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all.

I'm a US medical student looking to do an elective rotation in Melbourne. Does anyone have info on the surgery rotation at these two Hospitals? What is the typical day like? What are the differences between the two hospitals? Any personal experiences on the surgery rotation or any other rotations at either hospital...?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey all.

I'm a US medical student looking to do an elective rotation in Melbourne. Does anyone have info on the surgery rotation at these two Hospitals? What is the typical day like? What are the differences between the two hospitals? Any personal experiences on the surgery rotation or any other rotations at either hospital...?

Thanks.

What sort of surgery were you looking at?

Royal Melbourne and the Alfred are pretty similar hospitals, Alfred has a notable trauma unit (which I had a rotation on) but compared to US trauma centres it would seem pretty week (very little penetrating trauma, mostly car accidents that go to ortho, neurosurg and max/facs for op time and trauma just babysits them on the ward).

RMH is Melbourne Uni's flagship and Alfred is Monash Uni's so the atmosphere is probably a little different, but both are pretty 'academic' hospitals.

Thanks for the reply...Im looking at orthopaedic surgery...any more input based on that?

Also, what should I plan on hours/week wise...? I've heard many stories of rotations being pretty laid back but I assume it depends on what service you rotate on. I have family in town that I don't get to see very often so it would be nice to spend some time with them while im in town...I guess I just want to know if I should expect to be busting my balls for the 4 weeks and prep the fam to not count on seeing me that much...