RxP at LSU

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by mmonte4, Nov 22, 2005.

1. mmonte4

mmonte4 Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

I just talked with an LSU grad student. She told me there has been no adjustment to the clinical program due to RxP. Although you can minor in psychopharm(as a clinical grad student), that does not put you on a fast track to getting RxP. The only psychopharm classes that count are post doc.

2. edieb

edieb Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

I am a grad student @ LSU and I can confirm this!

3. mmonte4

mmonte4 Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

i find this news disappointing. You would think that the law would be written differently so that one would be able obtain RxP earlier.

4. mmonte4

mmonte4 Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

who are u studying under edieb?

5. edieb

edieb Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Studying under Dr. Copeland

6. PublicHealth

PublicHealth Membership Revoked
    Removed

If you take courses in psychopharmacology and related fields, could you then have these courses waived in your postdoctoral clinical psychopharmacology M.S. program?

7. mmonte4

mmonte4 Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

no, from what i understand all classes have to be taken post doctoral.

8. edieb

edieb Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

That is correct. If you're coming to LSU for greater exposure to psychopharmacology, don't! Most of the professors are against RxP. Also, in my opinion, the program is really terrible. What they sell you when you interview and what you actually buy are 2 very different things.

9. mmonte4

mmonte4 Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

edieb, what undergrad or masters program are you coming from? What kind of things did they try to sell? I noticed on their application, they have a choice for "medical psychology"

10. 50960

50960 Guest

Medical training for psychologists at the pre-post doc level is a long way off, and for good reason. APA.

11. edieb

edieb Senior Member
    10+ Year Member