Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

scared

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by Cju101, May 7, 2008.

1. Cju101

2+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student
    i was accepted a few months ago to phamacy school, and im starting to get scared. I've been interning for a couple months at a pharmacy were the pharmacists are very sexist and dont wish to teach me anything. My question is... Is it true that 3 year pharm schools are more geared towards churning out retail pharmacists. Im starting to second guess wheather i could hack it as a retail pharmacist. I guess i have to wait till pharmacy school starts to actually get a good look at other careers in pharmacy

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. IrishRxMan

2+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student
    I don't know about the three year schools much other than you don't really get a break. Not all pharmacists are sexist and if you have an issue like that you should bring it up to the manager or if the manager is involved, go to their supervisor. If the problem persists, go to some other pharmacy so you can learn something and avoid sexist comments. This isn't something that's going to be localized just to an intern so the problem needs to be fixed. You don't have to work for a retail chain. Out of all the physical pharmacies in the country, about half are independently owned if I remember correctly. Either way, if you graduate from school and have a PharmD, you can go anywhere you want. That's why they moved to that from RPh degrees.

Is their actions what is scaring you or the curriculum and are you accepted to one of the three year programs?

4. dann

Pre-Pharmacy
    may i ask whether youre a male or female?

5. Drug Doc

2+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student