May 7, 2012
Status
I am having trouble picking out possible schools that I want to go to and schools that will accept me based on my GPA and MCAT score. I have a 3.23 cGPA and a 3.04sGPA. They're both low, I know, but after freshman year I averaged a 3.5 GPA every term, family tragedies let me to not fully be there during freshman year, mentally and physically. So far on practice AAMC tests 7 and 8, I have scored a 26 and a 28, respectively. Looking to get a 30 on 10 and 11 when I take them in a few weeks. I am a pennsylvania resident and am not restricted to any particular region. Any incite on what schools to apply to, to give me a good chance?

OP
R
May 7, 2012
Status
That doesn't help..i've looked through them, but can't decide on what gives me the greatest chance

MedPR

Removed
Dec 1, 2011
Status
Pre-Podiatry
I am having trouble picking out possible schools that I want to go to and schools that will accept me based on my GPA and MCAT score. I have a 3.23 cGPA and a 3.04sGPA. They're both low, I know, but after freshman year I averaged a 3.5 GPA every term, family tragedies let me to not fully be there during freshman year, mentally and physically. So far on practice AAMC tests 7 and 8, I have scored a 26 and a 28, respectively. Looking to get a 30 on 10 and 11 when I take them in a few weeks. I am a pennsylvania resident and am not restricted to any particular region. Any incite on what schools to apply to, to give me a good chance?
That doesn't help..i've looked through them, but can't decide on what gives me the greatest chance
Here's the info I compiled for myself last year. Note: this is last year's 2011-12 data.

Schools in yellow are public schools, so the state subsidizes for in-state students (read: in-state bias).
PNWU has a >90% regional bias
WesternCOMP Lebanon also has a NW bias.
NYCOM and both PCOMs probably do, too. But this may also be due to a selection bias (mainly east-coasters applying to east-coast schools to stay local).

:thumbup: