School List Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Btad

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I hope you're all doing well during this crazy time. I'm planning on applying this upcoming cycle to MD programs and just wanted to get some feedback on my school list. I graduated last May and plan to pursue more opportunities in research/community service during my second gap year. Any and all advice is appreciated!

1. cGPA: 3.991, sGPA: 4.0 (Biology Major)
  • Switched from a music major after my first year and realized that I wanted to pursue medicine halfway through my sophomore year
2. MCAT: 517 (131/126/131/129)
3. State of residence: GA
4. Ethnicity: Hispanic male (Stateside Puerto Rican)
  • To this day, I’m still trying to figure out if this is considered an underrepresented minority lol. Regardless, I want to serve the Latino community in the future.
5. Undergrad: Small liberal arts school in GA
6. Clinical experience:
  • EMT (current)
    • Approximately 400-500 hours over the last year working in an emergency and non-emergency setting
  • Hospice volunteer
    • Roughly 200 hours over 2 years
  • Clinical Research Lab (current)
    • Around 300-400 hours over the past couple of months. We were working towards a publication, but the research has been put on hold due to the public health concerns (I’m not sure if I should put this under clinical experience or just research experience, but I interact with patients every day in this lab through surveys, cognitive testing, and application of mobile health technologies. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this)
7. Research experience:
  • Two research internships at top 30 med schools during undergrad
    • First project involved circadian rhythms of glycogen metabolism in the murine heart (⁓500 hours)