School Psychologist Dress Code???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PsychsRus

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

So Im a first year female student in a School Psychology program and I fell into a discussion in one of my classes concerning the "proper" dress code for a school psychologist in the schools. I was under the impression that they wear suits or look somewhat professional. Maybe not dark suits, but professional wear. Many of the sp's I've met in schools look this way. Im assuming because they are always meeting with parents, administrators and so on..
A professor in my assessment class said that it would be inappropriate for an Sp to wear a suit and that it may appear "threatening" to children especially during the testing situation which may have an effect how well they are able to do. Personally I believe it is more important for the school psych to make the child comfortable through his or her personality and ability to build rapport with the child.

What do you think about this? Is there a specific dress code for SP's or can they be as casual or as formal as they want to look? Would it be different if a student was working for an elementary school vs. high school?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
(I'm answering in regards to female attire!) From what I've gotten, it's usually dress pants with a sweater or nice top. Footwear has ranged from sandals to heels. I would also feel comfortable wearing a dress or separates with appropriate footwear (and tights during the winter).

I think attire mimics teacher's attire, maybe sometimes a touch dressier depending on what the day entails (such as meeting with parents, administrators). It's not a suit type job.

Members don't see this ad :)
Top 10 things not to wear.

1. Catholic School Girl outfit.
2. Wife Beater T-Shirt and Jeans.
3. Anything Mesh
4. Fishnets
5. Clear Spiked Stripper Heels.
6. Tongue Rings