Second Look (Vanderbilt vs. UNC)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pianosa

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Vanderbilt and UNC have their second look on the same weekend...thoughts on which is better to go to? I'm an NC resident, so UNC is the obvious and cheaper choice for medical school for now. I'm basically 90% set on UNC because :greedy:, but I'm pretty sure I don't want to go into primary care and UNC didn't amaze me on interview day. I'm not sure how to describe it, but UNC is both a great fit and the last place I wanted to end up.

On the other hand, I liked Vanderbilt a lot because of the people I met there (after one of my interviews I literally walked out and thought "wow, I want to be like this guy when I grow up...can he just be my personal guru for the next 4 years?? :bow:"), but didn't have time to explore Nashville and don't have a great feel for the place. I've heard second look there is really fun and that I should definitely go, but it's from March 27-28 and UNC's is March 28. Based on last year's agenda for UNC's second look, it seems like it's mostly a day of curriculum overview and then a short "getting to know you" thing in the afternoon. :lame: Is this worth going to? Doesn't sound terribly exciting, but if I'm going to end up there it would be nice to meet potential classmates and roommates.

Anyone have recommendations? Am I being silly even considering Vanderbilt when I'm IS for UNC? My family is like :nono:...wait until you get into Harvard with a full scholarship, then we'll talk. Ha. Ha. :eyebrow: I am waiting to hear back from some other schools, but I'd like to book flights and things earlier rather than last-minute in March.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Maybe you can go to Vanderbilt on the 27th and UNC on the 28th? Also, remember that you don't know what financial aid package you could end up getting from Vanderbilt.

Reactions: 1 user