Second-semester Junior - What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Silverflash

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a second-semester junior at Baylor University in Texas, planning on applying to med school this summer. How am I looking?

GPA - 3.92; BCPM - 3.93. The only three-hour science course I didn't get an A in was OChem 1 (B+), but I came back and made an A in OChem 2.
MCAT - Taking this in May. Currently taking a Kaplan prep course and studying like crazy. Hoping for a 34+.
Major: Neuroscience
I'm also an honors student who will be writing an honor's thesis as a senior over a topic in neuroscience.

Volunteering:
50+ hours at a regional serving center interviewing clients, filling out intake forms, serving in a food pantry, etc.
75+ other miscellaneous volunteering, mostly with various student organizations. Unfortunately very little clinically related.

Shadowing: 50+ hours shadowing an allergist at a clinic (DO). Have a shadowing opportunity available as a senior at a family health clinic for 30+ hours as well, but of course this won't be on my initial med application.

Research: 7 hours a week in a neuroscience/psychology lab assisting in a study on DRM paradigms and false memory. Will have over 100 hours at the end of this semester and will continue as a senior.

Leadership: Unfortunately, none. I'm in a student organization, but it took time to find one I liked and I haven't been eligible for any leadership roles. I may try to do this as a senior.

LOR: Hopefully pretty good. Will get a glowing one from the professor I'm doing my thesis/research with; the others are less sure. May be able to get one from the DO I shadowed.