This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wtfook

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I have seen around here that some people have applied to doctoral programs a second and third year before getting accepted. I am currently in my second year of applying and I had some questions:

1) What did you do differently in the second or third years you applied? What was it that you felt like you did wrong or that you needed to change in order to present yourself better the following year?

2) I have gotten interview invitations but not from the same schools that invited me for interviews last year. Is this normal? I feel as though not getting invitations from schools I interviewed at last year is indicating something about my performance last year but I am not sure what. I want to figure it out before my interviews this year. Did anyone else have that same experience? What are your thoughts?

Thank you for your input!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
*rubs hands together* Come little ones! Take a seat around the fire and listen to Rerope's tale!

I'm applying for my second time and not third but I think I'd make the same changes I did the first time:
- Become more productive: I made sure to have my name as first author on something (book chapter, pub, conference paper, symposium, anything) and took on increasingly difficult roles/tasks
- More judicious on who I chose to write my LORs (I feel incredibly indebted to my recommenders for how much care they put into each letter)
- Worked on SOP for months, had many MANY drafts, and carefully selected what I would and wouldn't mention.
- Chose mentors before I chose schools: I picked POIs who's work matched my interest and experience then looked at the program's stats (i.e productivity, licensure, exam pass rates, match rates, etc)