Second Year Students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ACSurgeon

Acute Care Surgeon
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Since I couldn't find anything on this topic using the search function, here it goes: How did you (second year students and beyond) approach second year compared to first year? I realize that second year is more demanding, and I wonder if you just did more of what worked during first year, or if you had to find a new approach all together. Thanks.

P.S. MS2's that have NOT taken STEP1 yet are asked to refrain from answering this question, as I can only imagine how bitter you are about studying for the darn thing! :eek:. Just kidding. Everyone is welcome to chip in.

Members don't see this ad.

I did not change my study methods. They worked M1 year after I figured them out, so I studied exactly the same, but in a different location, so I saw more people. I had less free time, but I did still manage to maintain sanity by some social things and exercise.

It's M3 year where things really change.

I did not change my study methods. They worked M1 year after I figured them out, so I studied exactly the same, but in a different location, so I saw more people. I had less free time, but I did still manage to maintain sanity by some social things and exercise.

It's M3 year where things really change.

I knew that would be the case for sure, but I wasn't sure if M2 was such a huge change with path and pharm. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad :)
I knew that would be the case for sure, but I wasn't sure if M2 was such a huge change with path and pharm. Thanks!

Pharm was my favorite class. Oh, I did everything the same for pharm, except I acquired premade notecards specific for my school's class. They basically condensed all the notes which I recopied anyway. They were more portable than my binder. It was the only class in which I used notecards.