Selecting Residents w. MBAs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

U4iA

εὐφορία
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there..

I was wondering what the general perception is from resident selection committees regarding MBAs. I am currently a med student and before this, I got an MBA (mostly to learn more about organizational leadership) but I'm not at all interested in working with pharms or HMOs. Unfortunately, I have encountered many people in medicine who seem to think that MD/MBAs are looking to work with big companies that squeeze physicians. I became conditioned not to mention the MBA because of this constant assumption and everything was fine.

Recently I wrapped up a research project that lead to a publication. The guy I do research w. knows that I have an MBA and included the letters in the draft after my name. I quickly had the urge to e-mail him back and tell him just to use my name. Then I thought I would get some of your ideas.

What do you think the average physician/resident thinks about people w. MBAs without knowing them?

What do you think resident selection committees think about people w. MBAs?

i realize this is a stupid question. i just wanted to get some peoples ideas.

Members don't see this ad.

yes, somebody with an MBA usually conjures up images of a person that only cares about finances and money... somebody that would screw others over at the slightest opportunity...

however, most physicians are just jealous b/c an MBA has more options then them, a better lifestyle if they are a healthcare executive, and let's face it... more cash...

i don't think you should hide your extra degree... it's more good than bad...