DentalKidd

7+ Year Member
Nov 3, 2010
Status
Pre-Dental
Hello friends, I am in a confused state right now. I started out in undergrad with Computer Science and that didn't go well at all, I switched over to Biology, did better in that, but my overall GPA ended up being a 2.0/4.0. I dealt with a sick parent the first three years of undergrad while attempting to work and attend school which is the reason for the low GPA. Awful I know!! Well I knew I wanted to go to dental school and that GPA would not suffice so after I graduated 2 years ago, I did an informal post bacc, retaking the 3 prereqs I received a C or below in and upper level bio courses such as Immuno, Microbial Patho, ect. I've taken 45 credits worth of post bacc courses and have a 3.7, I did very well on the DAT, 23/AA and 21/PAT. That 2.0 undergrad GPA concerns me very much. I have tons of shadowing, volunteer and research experience. What can help me? Any and I mean ANY information will be taken into consideration.

Last edited:

Maygyver

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jun 14, 2008
Status
Pre-Dental
Hm, I would suggest getting a masters degree to show that your low GPA was due to bad circumstances. Getting solid letters of recommendations would be a must too. You are definitely going in the right direction. Your DAT score shows you know the material, now you just need to show you are able to handle a rigorous course load for an extended amount of time. Hopefully this helps.

Mudfever

Still Searching
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Apr 18, 2007
Louisiana
Status
Dentist
Hi there,

I am in a similar situation. I went to school and earned a business degree to go work for the family business. Being young and immature, I was irresponsible and did poorly, graduating with a 2.19. Went to work in the family business, but it wasn't for me. So I went back and earned a 3.85 over 88 hours and received a second B.S. in biochemistry.