SH……………. I’m falling in love with general surgery.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sugeny

one day at a time
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in such trouble.

I am a fourth year med student, and utterly screwed. Over and over I have heard ‘general surgery is a wasteland, akin to the dark land of Mordor.’ My 3rd year gsurg clerkship was hell, sleeping 4 hours/night, but I still loved it. I’m on my gsurg sub-I right now, working 14 hrs/day, exhausted, yet still drawn to the specialty. The constant intensity pumps me up, I love following patients’ diseases, I light up when I’m in the OR.

My main problem with general surgery? I want to have a life outside of work. I am a super active, young, single girl. I have to exercise everyday. I absolutely require frequent snowboarding to survive. I would like to get married some day.

My question – is there any possible way to do general surgery and still date, exercise, and spend time with friends on a regular basis?

Members don't see this ad.

And...I feel kinda ******ed because I just did a forum search and found plenty of replies about this. Sorry for the 'oft repeated question.'

Members don't see this ad :)
I am in such trouble.

I am a fourth year med student, and utterly screwed. Over and over I have heard ‘general surgery is a wasteland, akin to the dark land of Mordor.’ My 3rd year gsurg clerkship was hell, sleeping 4 hours/night, but I still loved it. I’m on my gsurg sub-I right now, working 14 hrs/day, exhausted, yet still drawn to the specialty. The constant intensity pumps me up, I love following patients’ diseases, I light up when I’m in the OR.

My main problem with general surgery? I want to have a life outside of work. I am a super active, young, single girl. I have to exercise everyday. I absolutely require frequent snowboarding to survive. I would like to get married some day.