Sigismund

10+ Year Member
Jan 28, 2005
Status
Hi there, I'm an aspiring psychiatrist who will be applying to med school later this year. I have a question for the psychiatrists/psychiatric residents out there. My question is: How concerned should I be about the quality of a med school's psychiatric dept/residency program? Is this something I should even be concerned about at this stage of the process? In other words, will the quality/reputation of my 3rd or 4th year psych rotation affect which psych residencies I can get into? Or will I be all right if I simply go to a high quality school that offers decent rotations/clerkships across the board? And if the quality of a school's psych *does* matter, how do I judge which is good? U.S. News? Well-known affiliated psychiatric hospitals?

A bit about me: I'm a 30-year-old non-traditional student about to enter my final post-baccalaureate semester. I've worked as a community mental-health social worker for 2.5 years. I'm a Washington State resident, so of course am very interested in UW, but I need to apply to many many places. Many thanks for any advice you can lend!

Anasazi23

Your Digital Ruler
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Feb 19, 2003
The innocent shall suffer...big time
Visit site
Status
Attending Physician
It shouldn't matter too much what clinical rotation you do in medical school. I do know that they will look specifically at your grades in pharmacology, psychiatry and psychiatry clerkship. Of course, there may be some advantages to doing psychiatry at a great rotation where you can do 4th year elective research or something to that effect, but these opportunities are somewhat rare. LIJ in Ny has such a program...you even get paid for it. Otherwise, simply make sure you get a good medical education -- you'll need it for sure during your internship year and way beyond.