Should I apply this cycle or wait for another year? Need advices here...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

survive5

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDNers,

Some background info here:
I applied broadly (30+) last year as an international student, had 3 IIs (3 different tiers), 2 waitlists, and 0 offers. I did my undergrad in a different country, but I have a MS and PhD in the US. 36 MCAT, 3.9 grad GPA, no undergrad GPA, 200 hrs volunteering, 100 hrs shadowing, solid publications.

Though very upsetting, I still feel like medicine is something I want to pursue. I am debating whether I should apply this cycle to give it another try, or wait for next year (I will probably have permanent residency by then, and hope that will improve my chances).

I have a few questions:
1, any disadvantages as a re-applicant? If I apply this cycle and not get in, it would be my 3rd round next year. Is it going to hurt my application next year? If so, I would rather wait, coz I will be more ready next year (have permanent residency, will retake some of the pre-med courses in the meantime...). Otherwise, I would go ahead and apply right now. I want to start medical school as soon as possible.

2, I took my MCAT last year (04/2013), I think it should still be good for the next application cycle, but with the new MCAT starting next year, I am a little bit concerned. Do I need to retake the MCAT?

3, I plan to retake the pre-med courses. coz AMCAS doesn't verify undergrad courses taken in a different country. Is it worth to enroll in a post-bac program? Can I just take some courses in a non-degree program?

4, any general advices as what to do during the gap years to improve my case? more on research? clinical experience? etc

Thank you all!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: