Should I apply this year or take a gap year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ethereal_goldfish

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am currently a 3rd year undergrad at UC Davis majoring in Animal Science. I just need some advice/input on whether I should apply to vet school this coming year. Currently my GPA is a 3.30 (Not that great, I know). I got a couple C+ in general chemistry/organic chemistry.... Therefore, my last two years of undergrad, I'm really trying to raise my GPA as high as possible! I really want to go to UC Davis Vet School, but I know how tough it is to get in. I am currently debating on whether I should take a year off and apply next year or take a chance and apply this year. I have a lot of doubts about getting into UCD if I apply this year. I talked to the pre-vet advisor at my school and she really stressed getting as close to a 4.0 GPA when applying to any vet school, especially Davis.

Also, I am struggling with the getting letters of recommendation. Currently, I have one from my lab supervisor, but I can't seem to connect with a veterinarian! I have interned at at the UCD Vet teaching hospital, but those internships are so competitive that it's almost impossible to have the internship for more than 1 quarter! I've also went around Davis asking private practices if they take interns, and basically, they either said no, they don't accept internships/job shadows or they referred me back to the UCD Vet Teaching Hospital for internships! Anyway, it's been very frustrating and stressful. Any advice on how to successfully find an internship under a veterinarian? The last veterinarian I shadowed was before my freshman year in college in my hometown, but I doubt she would say yes if I asked since I do not go home very often.