Medical Should I apply to Sinai early program with three red flags?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I am new to SDN but figured this is the best realistic consult. I am a sophomore applying to the flexmed program at Mt. Sinai. I'm pretty sure everyone knows about it but briefly it's just an early assurance program for students who want to do something non-medical for two years to improve their education. I have a few questions about whether I am a realistic applicant or should save myself the $150 because it's not really money I can afford to lose. I know I have a couple red flags in my app (bolded).

First, I am an ORM male (i think orm means overrepresented, racially?). Now, my entire life I have been told that unless gods own sweet light isn't shining on my app and everything isn't perfect i'll get rejected because theres a billion carbon copies of me applying too. I know this is a stereotype but I am still scared of it. also both parents have grad degrees, middle class family. no one in medicine.

Stats - 3.85-3.91 GPA, depending on this semester. They take HS into account too, 3.995 GPA 35 ACT
Research - 1200 hours through HS and a bit in college before covid introduced itself. from college, 3 abstracts as one of the like 11 authors, not that impressive. one paper as first author in a field I love, journal IF only 3.
Leadership - im confident here, serve on several university committees and other positions, student government representative for college
employment - work two jobs, these are stem related but nonclinical and nonresearch (stem education and data journalism)
extracurriculars - played a sport, quit due to le virus