Should I apply with this DAT score?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sedination

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a Canadian considering applying to US dental schools and just wrote the DAT yesterday. I have very little knowledge on what scores need to be attained to be competitive in American dental schools. Can someone give me advice? Here are my scores:

Quantitative Reasoning - 29
Reading Comprehension - 26
Total Science - 19
Perceptual Ability - 13
Academic Average - 22

My concern is my abysmal PAT score (8th percentile!). With a PAT score like that, will ANY school consider me for interview? Are my marks competitive?

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

sedination said:
Hello,

I am a Canadian considering applying to US dental schools and just wrote the DAT yesterday. I have very little knowledge on what scores need to be attained to be competitive in American dental schools. Can someone give me advice? Here are my scores:

Total Science - 19
Perceptual Ability - 13
Academic Average - 22

My concern is my abysmal PAT score (8th percentile!). With a PAT score like that, will ANY school consider me for interview? Are my marks competitive?

Thank you.

Jeez man what happened on the PAT your other scores are impressive. Call the schools and ask them yourself

teefRcool said:
Jeez man what happened on the PAT your other scores are impressive. Call the schools and ask them yourself

I can't move those damn objects around in my head. Don't know makes me wonder if I'm cut out for dentistry. Plus I'm pretty terrible with my hands (got a C- in Grade 5 art class ).

Members don't see this ad :)
Ouch! That is probably the lowest PAT score I have ever heard of. No offense intended. Do you think you could bring that up at all and still do about the same on the academic portion? That is what I would do.