Should I Become a DO?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hedwig

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I'm currently a post-bacc premedical student. I want to become a doctor, and I don't particularly care whether it's an MD or DO. I'm definitely leaning towards DO, but I can't decide. They both have their pros/cons. So, I was wondering if any of you future DOs out there could tell me why I should become a DO as opposed to an MD. I'd really love some fresh perspectives on this!

Members don't see this ad.

Read "The D.O.'s" by Norman Gevitz.... then you will be able to decide..

I think you need to know the D.O. history before you decide...

This helped me decide... I didn't know the differences, I didn't even know about D.O.'s a few years ago, but now, I like D.O. better.. It just suits me better...

To each his own....

Mike

Ask that question to some currently practicing DOs

Members don't see this ad :)
Hedwig,

Not many of the major publishers of premedical literature (i.e. The Princeton Review) devote enough time and attention to what osteopathy is, so it's best to do your research in other ways. I definitely agree with Mike when he says to read Gevitz's book. Although it is written from an historical standpoint, you truly gain a sound sense of the profession and how it came to be. It also helped me to understand why osteopathy is as it is in our society today.
Secondly, I'd suggest job shadowing. That played a major factor in my ultimate decision to pursue osteopathy. Try to work with a physician who practices manipulative therapy or who is well known for using osteopathic diagnostic techniques in his/her practice. That will give you an idea as to what you'd eventually be doing!!