Should I become an Optometrist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Roger Schmidt

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, this is my first post on SDN. I was originally going to post this under Pre-Med, but I need some advice from you senior guys. I've been an Engineering major for the past 2.5 years, but recently I've come to doubt my major. The main reason is that being an engineer, I will most likely be working for the government or some really big company, and the idea of being self-employed and having that independence really appeals to me. The field of Optometry has always been something that I've thought about, and it has come to appeal to me recently, however, I haven't had any biology and very little chemistry, so I'd likely end up being a 5th or 6th year senior if I tried to get all the requirements for getting into Optometry School.

My question is this: is Optometry a good field for one who wishes to be self-employed, like in a rural practice maybe? (I grew up in the country and have no real interest in setting up in a big city) How difficult is it to set up / buy your practice these days? Is an Optometrist really as low stress as people make it out to be?

Members don't see this ad.