Should I continue studying for mcats?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

penicillinman

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been out of school since 2010, recently took the mcat with a 508. I have a sGPA of 4.0 and cGPA of 3.92 and have applied for the 2019-2020 cycle. I am a Texas resident and therefore aiming at Texas schools. Applied to all texas schools except Texas tech and ut riogrande. I am also in the process of applying to amcas schools in Texas and beyond mostly as back up. My predicament is (and I know I’m being pessimistic here) that I was quite disappointed with my mcats and feel like if I do study some more, I could probably get at least >510-512. At this point, should I just be studying for a second go around March-May of next year cycle just in case things don’t pan out? If I don’t study, I know I will forget everything that’s still fresh in my mind. Am I thinking too much into this? Should I just be relaxing now and let this cycle play out? Has anyone of you been in a similar situation. As far as other things beyond test and GPA:
- no publications or research experience
- my degree was in pharmacy (pharmd)
- work as an emergency room pharmacist (got solid LOR from a couple of the physicians and previous supervisor). Also serve as a preceptor for students.
- have plenty of community service hours, majority coming from when I was still in school.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: