Should I drop my MCAT.... again?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SiakTiDoc

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
I was suppose to take my MCAT last August, and at the time my scores were on the lower 490 end so I decided to cancel before the deadline. I started studying on and off last semester and during the break. I manged to bring my score up, but it isn't exactly were I'd like it to be, and I'm scheduled to take it on the 28th.

I took two Kaplan FLs and got a 498 and a 499 respectively, I took one AAMC FL and got a 503.
I'm pretty sure I can raise the score higher as there are a few topics I need to refine and honestly just review the Psy/Soc content a bit more. But I don't think I can fit any more studying in my current schedule, my goal was to take it January so I could get it out of the way and focus on classes etc, but that's staring to fall apart and I think I need to consider for a 3rd gap year. :(

I'm honestly feeling pretty depressed at this point, and I'm looking for advice/opinions on what to do.
I'm considering dropping my exam, and just focus on my classes/volunteer work/ and research this sem. Graduate then study for my MCAT (No classes, no research, no excuse this time) and take it next year?
Two of my friends who are also taking it at the same time have been encouraging me to take it as "You won't know your actual score until I take it", but I'm a bit hesitant at this point to do so.

Members don't see this ad.

Don't give in to peer pressure if you do not feel ready for this exam. If it means you have to take some more time, then do it. There's no need to hit yourself over the head for not being able to take it. Time is on your side. Please don't give up, OP. You can do it!

Reactions: 1 user