1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Should I go into Optometry?

Discussion in 'Optometry' started by FutureODnVA, Nov 14, 2005.

1. FutureODnVA

FutureODnVA Junior Member

Pre-Optometry
    Hi everyone. Ok. I need advice. I am a junior in college and my major is Psych. I've always been interested in psych until recently. Aside from an unexplained decrease in interest, I also realized that there's not much you can do without a doctorate and even then, you don't make the money that you would expect for all the years of training and money spent for it. I figure if I'm going to be in debt, I need to know that I'll be able to pay the loans off!
    Aside from that, I have been increasingly interested in optometry. It seems like a great career and something that I could possibly see myself doing. However, I am not the best at math. It scares me a little. :( I know that calculus is a required course, along with physics, and chemistry. I think I could possibly handle the physics and chem, but I am terrified of calculus.......is it something that I should face and believe I can pass if I really study or should I question this knowing how I currently am at math?

Is there anyone else here that isn't great at math but got through it for the sake of being an optometrists or do you genuinely have to love math and be naturally gifted at it?

Sorry this is a novel, but thanks to any replies in advance!!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. 3eb4me

3eb4me Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Where do you go to school in VA?

4. FutureODnVA

Pre-Optometry
    I go to Virginia Wesleyan....or at least I will be in January. I transferred out of ODU.....what about you?

5. odstudent

odstudent Member
    5+ Year Member