Should I join AOA (osteopathic) as an intern? For $60, is it worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Informer

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just got the renewal in the mail, i guess it was free as a med student, but as a resident, I have to pay $60/year.

What are the benefits of joining?

Members don't see this ad.

bump...

I'd like to know the answer to this too. I don't want to waste $60, and I can't think of a thing that the AOA did for me during med school. However, I don't want to burn any bridges with the AOA, since I am not currently in one of their residencies!

*Chopped Off For Irrelavant Content*

Members don't see this ad :)
Faebinder, are you in the right thread? The OP is ALREADY a resident and wants to know if it's worth renewing membership in the American Osteopathic Association... not to help his/her application.

I'd actually like to know the answer to the question myself. Are there benefits?

-K

Faebinder said:
picture yourself as a program director.... you got patients and residents to worry about... your spouse is driving you nuts about the kids... You just filtered 80-100 applicants (a lot more for bigger programs) by their step 1 and 2 scores and now you have to read each one's 3+ LoRs, transcripts, dean's letter (several pages), CAF and Personal Statments....

Hmmm..... I'm definitely not an expert but my guess is the impact is soooo low that the chance of this making a difference between you and the next guy is negligable..... save the money and use it to apply to 3 more programs.. increase the chances of an interview.

kalico said:
Faebinder, are you in the right thread? The OP is ALREADY a resident and wants to know if it's worth renewing membership in the American Osteopathic Association... not to help his/her application.

I'd actually like to know the answer to the question myself. Are there benefits?

-K