Should I quit?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dunkindog

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
What advice would you give an undergrad senior that has struggled mightily to get decent grades (~3.6gpa and 30 MCAT)? I'm applying to med school and I've had 2 interviews so far (1 more coming up) and I think that I'll probably get in this cycle. The problem is that in college I studied ALL THE TIME. I would have ~2 difficult science classes a semester and 2 easy/blow off classes. I would pretty much study 7 days a week for my hard classes. I'd listen to my lecture/take notes, memorize the concepts, and then review it everyday till the exam (exams every ~3 weeks). How the heck am I going to pass med school if I had to study soo much to get good grades (A's/B's) in 2 hard classes a semester?

One of my interviewers (LECOM-B) said that the students in trouble, in med school, are the ones studying 10+ hours a day and still struggling. He was suggesting that they simply hit their limit while those studying 2 hours a day can simply just study more.

Should I be worried about passing? I like FM/IM/psych if it matters.

Members don't see this ad.

You might not be studying in the most effective ways. I'd research good study habits, etc. If a lot of the tips you find are novel to you, try them out and see how they work for the rest of your semester.

Reactions: 4 users
You went through the trouble of applying, going to interviews, and now you're questioning whether you should quit? :bang:These are realizations you should have had before you spent all the time and money in this process.

Good thing is, if you change your habits, you'll most likely be fine.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)