Medical Should I retake a 516 mcat as a canadian applicant? Other improvement for reapplying if necessary?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am at a t10 undergrad and took the mcat twice already: 510 (128/123/129/130) at the end of Jan 2019 and retook for a 516 (130/128/131/127) in early april 2019. The second score was right at my FL exams before the the first exam (between 514-517 and one 520). I applied this cycle and submitted at the end of July/early august with 2-3 schools like mayo and JHU in october. My GPA is a 3.77 cGPA (most pulled down by one semester of a 3.4 with the rest being 3.8-4.0) and I majored in biology and public health. I have received one II from SLU that was on November 4th but nothing else so far except for rejections from schools that were close to my stats (BU, georgetown, case, dartmouth, and a couple more).

Overall, I would say my EC's are pretty ok but looking back at my amcas, i definitely understated hours for some of them

- 1000+ in an endocrinology lab, 1 5th author pub in this lab, selected for a summer fellowship program open to all citizenships with the American physiological society and awarded $4000, no posters bc i was supposed to present the week of my second mcat

- 400 hours in another brain pathology lab and was included as 10 of ~17 authors on another pub (not included on amcas since it wasn't that significant)

- 300+ hours of research with a professor who received an $75+ million grant for a global tuberculosis project where i traveled internationally to conduct focus groups with on intervention recipients (currently doing data work for this prof in my gap year for pay and acting as a "consultant" for future focus groups), no pubs but one poster presentation
- 1100+ as a resident advisor for two year in university
- 85+ hours as a group tutor for 1 year
- 135 hrs hospital volunteering in in oncology