Should I retake a course I got a B in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SSC2

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a freshman. Currently I have a 3.522 because of one biology class I got a B in. This current semester I have a 4.0.

Is it a good idea to retake the bio course to try to get an A?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a freshman. Currently I have a 3.522 because of one biology class I got a B in. This current semester I have a 4.0.

Is it a good idea to retake the bio course to try to get an A?

no thats silly, just concentrate on getting a 4.0 for the rest of ur undergrad but dont worry if it does not always work out .... b is alright as long as your transcript is not filled with them. if you really want to show them that b is not truly deserved take an advanced bio course and kick ass.

Both grades will be averaged in together if you apply to M.D. schools. Different for D.O. schools though if you were planning on heading towards that path. Your GPA will increase more if you were to take another higher-level Biology class, by far, than retaking that B.

You will hear the "take higher level classes" phrase a lot but it's for a reason. If you were to average in an A from a higher level Bio class it will be more beneficial towards your GPA and your application as a whole. What would look better? Seeing the student obtaining an A in Microbiology or another advanced course or seeing the student's transcript and looking at how many classes were taken over again.

Retaking a C is understandable under some circumstances, a B is fine.

Members don't see this ad :)

Last edited:
Alright, haha. My dad said it was a good idea to retake it and I said well, I'm taking organic chemistry next year and if I get As in that, it will look more impressive.

I'm currently in cell biology and I have an A. So I guess that's a plus too.