Mar 15, 2014
I finished most of my secondaries for DOs. I'm slightly panicking after seeing that some of you guys have received IIs already. My stats are not great (MCAT : 25 & 502, GPA 3.58) , but I think my EC's are pretty solid.

I am a first generation college student, non-native english speaker
over 4000+ hours of regular employment
over 1000+ hours of working as a medical assistant in a clinic
part of a prestigious research lab at USC Keck
a lot of volunteer hours (1000+) and have a lot of hardships (father was incarcerated, did not complete elementary education until migrating to the states)
shadowed 2 DOs (no letters) + two letters from MDs, which includes a committee letter with many other professors

However, I guess I am just freaking out because I haven't heard back from any school after submitting my secondaries. What do you all think? Do I just need to chill ?!!

Midwestern AZCOM - completed 6/28/2015
Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine - completed 7/8/2015
Nova Southeastern University College of Osteopathic Medicine- Completed 7/15/2015
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine - completed 8/6/2015
Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine–California - c0mpleted 7/27/2015
Western-Pomona- completed 8/4/2015

kinzav

Pizza's our middle name!
5+ Year Member
Mar 15, 2014
Phoenix
Status
Medical Student
I was gonna say just chill until I saw your school list. Those are tough schools to get into considering your stats. Plenty of time to add more schools if you can, just not sure you should feel comfortable about your chances right now.

Reactions: Dr. Death and Goro

DO2015CA

5+ Year Member
Apr 21, 2014
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Definitely shooting yourself in the foot by not expanding your list with those mcat scores. They'll get you in somewhere with that life story but idk about any of those schools

Reactions: Goro

0dee

SDN Gold Donor
Gold Donor
2+ Year Member
Jan 16, 2015
Status
Medical Student