sound do-able? for an hs student?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

condemnation

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey, everyone. this is my first post. i am an early admissions student here in south florida. basically, instead of finishing my senior yr. is HS next year, i'll go full time to university. that way i'll finish my HS senior year and uni freshman year simultaneously. my major is psychobiology.

my courses for first semester are:

biodiversity w/ lab
gen chem w/ lab
college algebra
spanish 2

do this sound doable? i'm a bit confused with the science courses because some say it's difficult, especially first semester of uni. but some tell me a lot of premeds do this, and the premed commitee at my school has a premed plan of sort, where you take bio, chem, college algebra during 1st semester, bio2, chem2, calculus during 2nd semester, etc.

i'm aware it's going to take a lot of studying and labs take up a lot of time, and my other two non-science courses are not exactly difficult... anyway, you think this is do-able for a HS senior?

Members don't see this ad.

You'll be fine so long as you are mature and responsible to get your coursework done. At least in my case, my senior year of high school was an excercise in avoiding anything resembling thought or work. At least in most cases, college is a pretty big step above what you're used to in HS. If you have your mind made up that you want to go to med school and you're committed to it, you don't have anything to worry about. My advice-Get some friends in your classes who can help if you need it, but go for it. There's no sense in waiting. It's just another year of your life that you'll more fully utilize. I wish that I had this opportunity myself. Btw, your courseload looks like it will be a good start (not too difficult). Good luck.