1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

St. George and AUC!!!

Discussion in 'Caribbean' started by 84meddreamer84, May 10, 2007.

1. 84meddreamer84

2+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    Hello people,
    I need an advise on applying to med schools and I really appreciate your help.

I'm applying to med school for the third year. I applied before to 25 MD and 13 DO American schools but I got rejected from all. Now I'm planning to apply again plus to the carribeans.

I have a BA degree in biology, minor in anthropology, more than 148 credits (including Genetics, Molecular and Cell Biology). GPA is 3.8, Science GPA is 3.65. I have research background, tutoring experience, volunteered for more than 300 hours, worked full time as a phlebotomist is a hospital, and gained many scholarships and awards (Phi Beta Kappa ..etc)

However my mcat scres are low, for 2005 VR: 5 PS:6 BS:8
    for 2006 vr:3 ps:4 bs 6 (I've gone thru a bad time)

if I apply this week to Saint George and AUC, will I have a chance? What do you guys think (keep in mind that I was a little late when I applied to the american schools, which might've affected the committee's decision)

if I don't have a chance, where would I? bearing in mind that I need financial aid too. Thanks a lot!!!!!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Top Gun

7+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Retake the MCAT and bring your total score up to something like 24 or 25. Then you'll probably have a good chance. Those are the kind of MCAT scores SGU likes to see although I can't speak for AUC.

4. McGillGrad

McGillGrad Building Mind and Body
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Your MCAT may break you in the end because of the significance of the USMLE exams in medical school.