St. Vincent's program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gastech76

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a resident at St. Vinnie's, and I would caution you all before ranking this place. They sold the hospital and they're gonna build a new building, but in the interim the incoming residents may be displaced for a few months. You might end up in locations you never imagined. No one's gonna tell u this at the interview!
They sold all of their manhattan housing, and now the residents have to move to NJ by July. Luckily I'll be gone by then. They may not tell you this either. The hospital is still officially in bankruptcy.
You guys should look at the brooklyn programs before ranking this place. The case load is pretty sucky also.

Members don't see this ad.

Wow, thanks for the information.

Why do the residents need to move to NJ versus somewhere else in Manhattan? Were you just generalizing?

Members don't see this ad :)
the housing they will be "subsidizing" will be in jersey. There will be no longer any subsudized houysing for st. vincent's residents from now on. Please apply cautiously, this is not an easy area to find housing in, and its definately not the nicest hsopital to work in.

To add insult-to-injury, they also do not allow any of their senior residents to do moonlighting. It is strictly forbidden in the contract. Bottom line - this is the only program now in NYC where you won't have affordable housing AND you won't have the option of making some extra cash to offset the costs of market rent housing. As someone else already put it: apply with caution!

Where in NJ? Is this in Hoboken and JC or out in Bayonne or something?

Are there specific issues with the program that I should consider aside from the housing issue and the hospital's debt that might affect my education there and/or job opportunities afterwords?