Step 1 BattlePlan for a Closet Slacker

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

San_Juan_Sun

Professor of Life
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm coming out of the closet: I am..... <gulp>.... a slacker. (In reality, I have a family and other outside interests. I do pretty well with what would be "minimal study" for most of my classmates.)

I could study more, and do a little better, but for my career plans my didatic ranking won't mean all that much. My step 1 scores are a different matter. Of course, given the emnity some here have for people that don't kill themselves with Netter's and notecards, I'm expecting some wrath coming my way. However, I have a plan to rock step 1, and I'd be interested to hear from likeminded students who've been-there-done-that. A bit about me first:

I am a DO student, so I'll definately be taking COMLEX. Right now I think I'll probably take the USMLE (although I don't HAVE to for my desired specialty, even though I intend to go ACGME). I typically study for 8-12 hours for a given test, usually the ay before and the morning of. I generally pick up the concepts quickly, and remember the details long enough for the test. I'm usually pretty good at standardized, multiple choice style tests.

I don't have anxiety about boards. I'm not worried about performing under pressure. I do worry a bit that my relative lack of study will put me behind in studying for the boards (I have no doubt that given sufficient and effective prep time, I'll be fine). So here's the situation and the plan:

Situation: My last quarter or med school starts tomorrow. It's a pretty light load, so I'll have plenty of time to study all quarter long. I ten have 3 weeks to study before the COMLEX. If I do take the USMLE, I'll take it two weeks after COMLEX.