Step 1 first attempt fail

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SA node 12345

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi dear dr
I am a doctor from ... I graduate in 2006. It takes 2 years on and off for me to complete my study and get ready for step 1. I read all the Kaplan lecture notes and listen to DVDs. I do around 3000 tests but not from a definite Q bank and not in a situation the same as the real exam. In these two years, I continue to practice as an ER physician in the hospital. The exam cost around 3000 $ for me. I take the exam in 15 January 2014. I was in pressure and left around 40 question unanswered!
UW exam score: 214
5 February 2014, score release: Fail (183/75)

I am in shock. What should I do? Should I say goodbye to my dream? Is there any other choice for a physician in the U.S ? Is it reasonable to schedule for step 1 and 2 CK in a same time? In your opinion, which one is better: be a family physician in the U.S. or an ophthalmologist in my motherland? I’m so confused and need your advice. Please don’t deny helping me.The best.

Members don't see this ad.

matching will become more difficult the longer you take. A fail on Step 1 can be the kiss of death for the vast majority of US programs.

Where are you currently located? You would need to pass Step 1, Step 2 CK and Step 2 CS to be even remotely considered by any residency program. Some IMGs also take Step 3 in order to be more competitive.

Members don't see this ad :)
Dear notbobtrustme
I read this forum and know something about this hard way. But i don't have any other choice and must fight for my life. Whats your opinion if i try it again and break 240? is there any hope a coordinator look at me as an IMG?

Dear notbobtrustme