step 1 study limbo

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

absolut2017

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey guys,

I just was writing hoping to get some encouragement. been feeling down because I am still studying for step. I was supposed to take it a few weeks ago but did not even clear through uw one time or first aid one pass so delayed my exam.

I am an IMG. i was an average student, never had issues until now

got 160 and 170 on my school cbses in may. since then i studied and got 195 two weeks later on nbme13 then 203 about two weeks ago on uwsa1. i had about a 1 month lag period where i did not study. its been 3 months since i first initially started studying (2 months studying). its been a very slow work in progress

a part of me wants to just get it over with, but i know i dont even have the luxury of doing that because i am barely passing. i always did well in school so when i started doing nbmes and uw and such and was scoring bad, i was shell shocked because suddenly i went from being "okay" to below average and never in my life was i in this position. i always tell my self that medical school attracts some of the brightest of the brightest but it is difficult listening to the rational side

i tried to look for some encouragement on sdn but it seems as if almost everyone on here is very high-scoring. few people are the same likes of me.

i still have about a month and a half till my exam. i know i have been improving because i will read something everyday or make a huge breakthrough that i never knew before and i will realize why i was confused before but still- even though i am putting in so many hours a day, it feels like i am not moving.

if you have kind words of encouragement, it would be very appreciated

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: