Step 3 prep course recommendation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ptoi

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm studying for Step 3 (aiming to take it in a month) and I'm curious whether anyone has had any positive experiences with prep courses. Is the Kaplan course good? And has anyone had any experience with the new Step 3 DIT course? I'm aiming to do really well on the exam, not just pass it. Also, for anyone who recently took the exam, how much of the basic sciences are on it? I heard they were adding some basic science questions to the exam. Currently I'm planning on doing:

-USMLE World (this is a given)
-Kaplan Qbank
-Master the Boards
-First Aid Step 3
-maybe supplement with Case Files OB-Gyn and BRS Pediatrics since I don't remember those as well...

Any other resources which were helpful for people?

Members don't see this ad.

Id recommend Archers CCS Review. I think its $88 but he goes into detail on how to navigate the CCS software on Step 3 as well as tackling many CCS cases. In regards to Kaplan, I think its OK but it doesnt really go into detail into management. I listened to Archer's Step 3 videos and he goes into detail about management. I think combining Kaplan and Archer is good preparation.

I am more of an audio type of learner, so listening to Kaplan lectures and Archer's lectures are helpful.

I would say USMLE World two times is better than reading any textbook. I am preparing for my exam and using UWORLD + DIT + MTB3. I think MTB3 is the worst and many things in it contradict what is UWORLD (of course I will go with UWORLD). DIT 3 is good but it is very basic and does not go into deep details in management and diagnostic tests (this is what all step 3 is about). UWORLD has very nice explanations, guidelines and tables that can not be found in any other book.

by the way, I noticed that DIT step 3 follows guidelines from UWORLD most of the times.