Step II vs. Step I Score

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

terriers

MS IV
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I've been viewing SDN for years, but this is my first time posting. So thank you all for the excellent advice I've been seeing since I started school.

My question is this: I am currently a week away from taking Step II CK. I scored a 254 on my Step I (which I was shocked and beyond thrilled about). What I've heard is that most people do about 20 points better on their Step II score from Step I. However, I don't really know if I can go up that much. Would it look bad on residency applications if I did worse, like got a 220-240??

I'm currently on track to do very well. My first NBME practice test before starting to study for step I was a 220. I took NBME 4 before starting my step 2 studying and got a 239. But I just wanted to know if I should continue breaking my back or if I can take a little break and be reassured if my Step II isn't as stellar as my Step I.

Members don't see this ad.

There is no way people do 20pts higher because the average is 10pts higher :p

Having said that, I'm pretty sure that if your Step 1 is stellar they don't expect your grade to shift that much since this isn't some simple linear extrapolation.

My question is this: I am currently a week away from taking Step II CK. I scored a 254 on my Step I (which I was shocked and beyond thrilled about). What I've heard is that most people do about 20 points better on their Step II score from Step I. However, I don't really know if I can go up that much. Would it look bad on residency applications if I did worse, like got a 220-240??