Still confused about Post-Bacc options...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UCSD1984

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. Before I start, I just want anyone reading to know that I have gone through an extensive search regarding these questions and I apologize if I'm repeating a lot of what is already asked on here.

About me; I'm a recent UCSD graduate (June 2010) with a Bachelors in Human Biology with a Minor in Psychology. My UC-GPA is a 2.76 and my overall GPA is a 2.9 (horrific, I know). I'm extremely capable of obtaining a 3.5+ (you've heard it all before), I just made some poor decisions during my undergrad years. It wasn't until last month that I realized how much I believe I would enjoy Dentistry, and I'm now ready to begin my reconstruction process in order to make this happen.

However, I'm still confused about Post-Baccs/Masters programs. The general consensus seems to lean towards a Post-Bacc versus a Masters, but almost all (if not all) Post-Bacc programs I've found are geared towards URMs/Economically disadvantaged individuals, neither of which I can be categorized as.

The option that has most piqued my interest is a Post-Bacc program where I pick and choose my own classes. The biggest benefit to me at the moment involves schedule flexibility along with staying in San Diego (taking the classes at UCSD). Here are my questions in regards to this option...

1.) What are the cons in comparison to an actual Post-Bacc program or an MS?

2.) How many classes should I take?

3.) Should I take classes that I've already taken and gotten a "C-" in? I have 3 of those =/

4.) Which part of my GPA will these new courses I take be calculated into? Certainly not my undergraduate GPA, I would assume. Into my science GPA?

5.) Do I literally just go back to school and start signing up for courses again? Should I speak to a counselor prior?