Still floating around after graduating

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vitallotus

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi non-traditional friends,

I am 27 years old and have a 3.23 gpa from uc berkeley where I graduated in fall 2009. I had originally wanted to get into astronomy when I started there, but it wasn't for me and I ended up graduating with a major that I wasn't really that interested in: physics. I have a second major in interdisciplinary studies - which is a combination of classes in psychology, cognitive science, and eastern religion. I have around 150 units from berkeley (a ton). It took me 6.5 years to graduate and there are 3 withdrawals on my transcript. My grades are relatively low until the last two years where I have no withdrawals and a gpa around 3.5-3.6.

Because of my relatively low grades in many of the physics classes in the early years, my science gpa is definitely below a 3.

Due to my large number of units it would be very difficult to raise my cGPA significantly.

I had a job for about a year and a half (making ~40k) for a company that managed data for clinical trials in a cubicle. The job was a total joke. It consisted of monotonous data entry and sitting around twiddling my thumbs trying to find things to do because the work was so simple and easy. I was eventually fired (that was about 8 months ago...)

I'm not interested in computer programming and have little to no programming experience, and am definitey not interested in any more sitting in front of computer jobs.

I want to have a career where I can be autonomous, interact with people daily, draw from a large knowledge base, and most importantly help people and be able to actually see the progression of that help. Biology and chemistry are also fascinating subjects for me.