Still undecided in middle of 3rd year...looking for advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrReef

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am a 3rd year DO student who is pretty confused on what specialty I want to go into. Some things I have liked so far are Surg and Peds and things I haven't liked are FM and Newborn Nursery. My dilemma is that there are probably about 6 things I am considering (Cardio, ENT, Ortho, Peds, Vasc. Surg, EM) but the next 6 months are devoted to IM, Psych and OB/GYN no time to try some of the things I am interested in. So I am afraid when it comes time to start applying for residency in the fall I won't know what I want to do...
So recently I have been thinking about possibly doing a Traditional Rotating Internship? Or maybe trying to shadow some people when I can? Does anyone have any insight on the Rotating internship or any advice if they were in a similar situation

Oh an also lifestyle isn't a huge factor into my equation...dont mind being on call and like a lot of things going on...I get bored very easily! Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Your interests are really broad. I would suggest getting a copy of "The ultimate guide to choosing a medical specialty", it's written by doctors in the different fields, and provide info on day- to- day work, lifestyle, wages, what you need to be competitive, etc.

So I am a 3rd year DO student who is pretty confused on what specialty I want to go into. Some things I have liked so far are Surg and Peds and things I haven't liked are FM and Newborn Nursery. My dilemma is that there are probably about 6 things I am considering (Cardio, ENT, Ortho, Peds, Vasc. Surg, EM) but the next 6 months are devoted to IM, Psych and OB/GYN no time to try some of the things I am interested in. So I am afraid when it comes time to start applying for residency in the fall I won't know what I want to do...