stop studying!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dookbloo

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
for real. as a person who has taken this multiple times, hopefully i can offer some useful advice. the first time i took the test, i studied really hard, was very prepared, and very anal when i took the test. i was super careful with every answer, trying to get every one right. well, i didnt realize that i was going really slowly. on pretty much every section, i had to rush through the last 20 or 30 questions in 30 minutes, which may have been enough time had i not been flipping out that i only had that much time left (ha, that may make sense). for some reason, i acted differently on the real thing because time was never an issue on practice tests. DONT DO THIS.

the point im getting at is that relaxation and confidence in yourself are incredibly important. i know youve heard it before and many of you will ignore me, but doing nothing is the best thing you can do right now. go out and enjoy yourselves tomorrow. when youre taking the test, i think its really important to be confident in your answers and move along. you prepared hard, so youll be fine. when i took it the 2nd time, my only goal was to make sure i had given every question a good shot (given it plenty of time and effort). if i wasnt positive on a question, i trusted my instincts and moved on. this was especially important on verbal. why? if you get to the last passage with 8 minutes left, you probably are not going to do very well on it. youll be nervous that you have 8 minutes left, you wont read it very well, and youll haphazardly answer the questions. thats huge. in other words, if youre struggling with a question, move on. youll compensate by getting the easy questions later on, rather than missing them both. TRUST YOURSELF.

good luck to all of you.