This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Samin23

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm currently in my 4th semester at Texas A&M, and I feel like I'm not involved in enough things on campus, but I also feel like my schoolwork doesn't allow any extra time to join more organizations.
Currently, I am a member of the Pre-dental society, and I volunteer at a local hospital on Saturdays. In the past, I have attended SMDEP (Summer Medical and Dental Education Program), volunteered at The Big Event (one-day service project at my school), and volunteered at BUILD (organization that builds portable medical units and sends them across the world to poverty-stricken areas).

I have tried applying for leadership positions in The Big Event and BUILD, but I was denied after the interview process in both organizations. Now, I am currently working on an application to be a peer-tutor on my campus, but I'm not sure if I will get the position considering we are already almost halfway through the semester.
With that being said, does anyone have any advice on other ways to get involved during the semester?

Members don't see this ad.

There is always food bank volunteering and tutoring at a local library (volunteer of course).

Reactions: 1 users
Just keep in mind. Dental schools would rather see you do a few EC activities consistently over 4 years rather than many random activities inconsistently.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Just keep in mind. Dental schools would rather see you do a few EC activities consistently over 4 years rather than many random activities inconsistently.

Good point. I think my major worry is just a lack of leadership positions. That's the main reason I'm applying for a tutoring job

Reactions: 1 user
Good point. I think my major worry is just a lack of leadership positions. That's the main reason I'm applying for a tutoring job