Struggling PT student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jampt20

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Any advice would be appreciated.
I am a first year PT student and have found coursework and exams to be challenging. I struggled during anatomy and barely made it through that summer semester. I'm currently on academic probation and need to manage a 3.0 by the end of my spring semester, but I was optimistic going into the fall because it was seeing it as a new start. This last month has continued to be a struggle and I haven't been doing well on exams again. I study after class and on the weekends- I've stopped working and my social life has taken a big hit..yet I continue to do poorly.
For anyone who's been in a similar situation how did you get through it? I'm feeling down right now because it feels like everyone else understands the information right away and it's like I'm the only one struggling.

Members don't see this ad.

Are you having problems with memorization? If so, read "Moonwalking with Einstein". That book saved my bacon during the first year of PT school. IMO the first 2 semesters are very heavy on rote memorization; most of the stuff I haven't really had to use in real life. But you still have to know it, to pass the tests and the Board.

If it's clinical reasoning you're struggling with, then my advice would be to study with 1 or 2 other persons. Take turns explaining the concepts to, and bounce ideas off, each other. Each of you will see things in a slightly different way, and you will get to see the same concepts under various angles. One of them may "click" with you. Myself and 2 other guys used that method through all 3 years of PT school, and it worked well for us. And we still keep in touch with each other.

Reactions: 1 user