Studying for Step 1 and 2 when you have ADD/ADHD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sunseeker2021

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Friends, I really need some advice. Some info about my status so far:

1. I barely passed Comlex Level 1 last summer. Didn't take Step 1, even though I was planning on it. Was going to take it just before 4th year (a year form now) like a classmate of mine did who ended up matching well.

2. I'm currently studying for Level 2 and Step 2. Doing a year of clinical research starting in August, so I can take the Step exams whenever, but will be working 40 hours each week starting next month.

I took my first assessment yesterday (the UWorld assessment) and got a 140. I'm supposed to have studied all summer, but have had a lot of distractions (life stuff involving finances, mostly). Now that the distracting issues have been dealt with, I'm struggling to focus during these long, uninterrupted study marathons. I had some stamina while studying for COMLEX, but I'm so burned out from third year (did fine on my shelf exams) and ready to not be in school that it's felt near impossible to buckle down and cram facts into my head. This all sounds like whining, but it's created a huge mental block and I've hit a low point. Stalling out now when I need to move forward!

Also finding out now that my working memory is terrible when it comes to reading these long passages. COMLEX stems are a bit shorter and more memorization-based so I can handle them better. USMLE stems are long and contain a ton of numbers. My brain works much better with stories, not numbers and details. By the time I get to the end of the question, I've forgotten all the facts listed in the beginning of the question. Obviously these numbers are details are of crucial importance in medicine, and you have to have a firm grasp on them during these board exams to do well.